Arctic Tern Equity Indices

Defining the universe of sustainable Arctic investing



Geographic Scope

The Arctic Tern Equity Indices adhere to the Arctic Council's Arctic Human Development Report (AHDR) definition of the Arctic. The AHDR boundary includes Alaska, Canadian territories north of 60°N together with northern Quebec and Labrador, Greenland, the Faroe Islands, Iceland, and the northernmost counties of Norway, Sweden and Finland.

Mandated to provide "a comprehensive knowledge base for the Arctic Council's Sustainable Development Programme," the AHDR' boundary most closely reflects political jurisdictions and administrative entities by which economic and demographic data are publicly available.

The AHDR defines the Arctic as the northern regions of the eight Arctic nations, including:



Map: Arctic Portal, AHDR

- United States: Alaska
- Canada: Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Nunavik, and Labrador
- Denmark: Greenland, Faroe Islands
- Iceland
- Norway: Nordland, Troms, Finnmark, and Svalbard
- Sweden: Västerbotten and Norrbotten
- Finland: Lapland, Oulu, Kainuu

Following the 2022 Russian invasion of Ukraine all Russian companies and companies doing business in the Russian Arctic were removed from the Arctic Tern Equity Indices.

Sources

- AHDR (Arctic Human Development Report) 2004. Akureyri: Stefansson Arctic Institute http://hdl.handle.net/11374/51
- An enlarged map of the AHDR boundary is available on the next page and online courtesy of <u>Arctic Portal</u>.

More Information

For more information see Arctic Tern Consulting's website:

www.arcticternllc.com

Contact

To get in touch, email:

Ryan Uljua - Founding Partner, Arctic Tern Consulting







